on a positive note

The key to life is to constantly surround yourself by happy people. People that fill the room with positive energy. People that make your life THAT much better. People that you share a confined space with, and still don’t understand how you didn’t kill each other by the end of the year. People that make coming “home” a breath of fresh air from reality.

I like to call these “people” my roommates.

I never thought I would miss living with three girls so much. Never thought I’d miss Kayla listening to screamo music as she showered. Or Sam square dancing to “Honey I’m good”. And the best of them all, Alex yelling at someone for god knows what.

But I was wrong. I have never missed three individuals so much. Despite all of our flaws we truly love each other like sisters. Yes, we would have our moments. But at the end of the day all we had was each other. It was like living with my own sister at home; one second were yelling at each other to get in the bathroom and the other second were bonding over pizza in the kitchen.

Without them I wouldn’t be where I am today. I would’ve packed my bags and gone home. I wouldn’t still be enrolled at CMU. I wouldn’t have met the amazing people I did. I wouldn’t be the person I am today. I would’ve missed out on SO much. And I have them to thank for pushing me to be the strongest person I could be. Not letting him hold me back one more step of the way. They cared for me just enough. Never overbearing, but never distant.

Who would have thought that four extremely different personalities would work out so well.

Sam: Very soft spoken, sensitive, smart, and nurturing. But when she gets out of her shell she’s an entirely different person. All the sudden she becomes full of energy as she dances around the room. Sam has been in a healthy relationship for three years now with a great guy. She is the sweetest girl I have ever met, and even though we are very different I couldn’t have been luckier going in blind and getting her as a roommate.

Alex: Old souls in our past life as her coworker would say. You never know what you’re going to get with her, but this is never a bad thing. She’s protective, loving, and full of adventure. Alex is the roommate I would stay up with until 4 in the morning; talking about life, hammocking, listening to music, or simply watching a movie in silence. She has been burnt too many times when it comes to guys, but found a great guy at the end of the year. And what do you know, he’s full of life and adventure just like her. He even inspires me from time to time with how much life has thrown at him and how he is still filled with pure happiness.

Kayla: Just typing her name makes me laugh. I really don’t think there’s anyone that can cheer me up better than her. One of the nicest girls I have ever met. She will go to the end of the earth just to make you happy. Kayla doesn’t deserve how people treat her from time to time. Seeing her go through an unhealthy relationship truly broke my heart. But she is so strong. Stronger than she thinks. And absolutely beautiful inside and out. And cliché as these things sound, they’re all true. I want Kayla to find happiness within herself and who she is.

As I have been in the dorm alone after the incident, Sam is the first to come back to the dorm Sunday. Time goes by, and I just couldn’t fake a smile anymore. She asks what’s wrong. I break down and go to bed. “Sam don’t tell Kayla and Alex”. Kayla and Alex return late Sunday night. “Where’s Jill?” Sam going along with what I told her, “Oh I don’t think she feels well, she’s in bed. They start to get concerned.. knowing I never sleep. Especially this early. Alex Opens the door calling my name, with Kayla following behind her. They know somethings wrong.

Sam sitting on the side of her loft, Kayla sitting at my desk, and Alex laying by my side. At this moment I felt safe. I break out in tears and tell them what had happened. Sam sits back quiet, Kayla instantly gets tears in her eyes, and Alex gets this urge to punch every wall in our dorm.

That night Alex slept with me. Actually most nights for awhile I would sleep with her. She made me feel safe, like all of them did for the rest of the year. Safer than I even feel at home. Staying up at school helped me more than harmed me. And I wouldn’t have made the progress I have today without these three amazing girls by my side.

I will forever appreciate and cherish having them in my life.

Leave a comment